2013 Pulitzer Prize Winners Announced

On Monday, April 15th, the 2013 Pulitzer Prize winners were announced.  Prizes were awarded for journalism in 14 different categories. Among the winners was The Denver Post staff for breaking news reporting. The newspaper covered the mass shootings in a movie theater in Aurora, Colorado. 

Journalists from The New York Times won in 4 categories including investigative reporting, explanatory reporting, international reporting, and feature writing.  David Barboza who took the Prize in international reporting was presented with the prestigious honor for his work exposing how relatives of leaders of China’s Communist Party have secretly become extremely wealthy. The Pulitzer Prize is awarded annually in April by Columbia University for achievements in newspaper and online journalism.  Winners receive cash prizes of $10,000 and a certificate, except in the public service category of journalism in which the winner receives a gold medal.  Winners will receive their awards at a luncheon in late May. 

In the journalism competition, entrants may be of any nationality, but their work must appear in a U.S. newspaper, on a newspaper’s website, or on an online news organization’s website. The prize is named after the Hungarian-born publisher Joseph Pulitzer.  This year’s winners in journalism are listed below.  To find out more about the Pulitzer Prize visit www.pulitzer.org.

Public Service: Sun Sentinel, Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Breaking News Reporting: The Denver Post staff
Investigative Reporting: David Barstow and Alejandra Xanic von Bertrab of The New York Times
Explanatory Reporting: The New York Times staff
Local Reporting: Brad Schrade, Jeremy Olson and Glenn Howatt of the Star Tribune, Minneapolis
National Reporting: Lisa Song, Elizabeth McGowan and David Hasemyer of InsideClimate News, Brooklyn, New York
International Reporting: David Barboza of The New York Times
Feature Writing: John Branch of The New York Times
Commentary: Bret Stephens of The Wall Street Journal
Criticism: Philip Kennicott of The Washington Post
Editorial Writing: Tim Nickens and Daniel Ruth of the Tampa Bay Times, St. Petersburg, Florida
Editorial Cartooning: Steve Sack of the Star Tribune, Minneapolis
Breaking News Photography: Rodrigo Abd, Manu Brabo, Narciso Contreras, Khalil Hamra and Muhammed Muheisen of The Associated Press
Feature Photography: Javier Manzano, freelance photographer, Agence France-Presse
Eric Pohost/Journalism for Development/

АНХААРУУЛГА: Та сэтгэгдэл бичихдээ хууль зүйн болон ёс суртахууны хэм хэмжээг хүндэтгэнэ үү. Хэм хэмжээ зөрчсөн сэтгэгдэлийг админ устгах эрхтэй.

Сэтгэгдэл байхгүй байна

  • John  (
    2013-04-17 21:09
    Good job
  • John  (
    2013-04-17 21:08
    Good job